• Authors

  • Calendar of Posts

    October 2011
    M T W T F S S
        Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

The PMP Handbook

In one of the earlier posts, I talked about the first step being to figure out timelines for this process. Tonight, I downloaded the PMP Handbook and reviewed the entire thing. While the book doesn’t give me much insight into what a PM does or is, it did enlighten me on the PMP Certification process.

PMP Handbook notes

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Tertiary degree
  • 36 months of non-overlapping work leading and directing project tasks since 2003 (past 8 years)
  • 4,500 hours of work leading and directing project tasks since 2003 (past 8 years)
  • 35 hours of training
Currently, I have 24 hours of training, at least 23 months of work and the degree. I have to count the rest of the hours and months.
Gather all the documentation BEFORE you begin the application. You have 90 days to finish what you start with the application. Plus, you have 90 days after the application if you are in the approximately 10% who is audited. So, I need to make sure to get copies of everything up front!
The application takes 5 days to process. But, scheduling the exam could take 3-6 weeks. So, to meet my 1/15/12 deadline, I would need to apply by 11/29. Hmm….
It’ll cost me $405 to take the exam. Hello, Christmas present.
The rules about the exam are straightforward. I’ve taken the SATs and AP exams. I can figure out the rules. Plus, I’m sure they’ll remind me again. Though, no calculators. I have to use theirs…
After I pass, I have to deal with PDUs. 60 PDUs in 3 years. But, 15 PDUs per year can be from working professionally as a PM for 6 months, minimum. So, stay working as a PM, you only need 15 PDUs every 3 years. Cool
Then, there is the code of ethics. I’ll do another entry on that.
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

